Quest Management Team

Madi Madiyalakan, Ph.D

Chief Executive Officer, Director

Dr. Madiyalakan is the CEO of the Corporation and has served in this capacity since August 2006.  Prior to joining the Corporation, he was one of the founders of SonoLight Pharmaceuticals Corp. (served as its CEO and Director), CanBiocin Inc. (served as President, CEO and Director) and AltaRex Corp. (served as Vice-President, Planning and Chief Scientific Officer).  Between 1987 and 1995 Dr. Madiyalakan served in various senior positions at Biomira Inc.  Dr. Madiyalakan was previously Executive Vice-President, Research and Development of the Corporation.  Dr. Madiyalakan holds a Masters (Chemistry) and Ph.D. (Biochemistry) and a Certificate in Management Development.  In addition, he has over 40 years of academic and industrial research experience on an international basis.  He has published extensively and been an inventor of a number of patents.

J. Mark Lievonen, C.M., FCPA, FCA, LLD


Mr. Lievonen has over 30 years’ experience in the biopharmaceutical industry. From 1999 to 2016, Mr. Lievonen was the President of Sanofi Pasteur Limited, the Canadian vaccine division of Sanofi, a global pharmaceutical company. He is a Director of Sano Nanotech Inc., Biome Grow Inc. and the Gairdner Foundation. Mr. Lievonen has served on a number of industry and not-for-profit boards including as the Chair of R&D (now Innovative Medicines Canada), BIOTECanada, the Markham Stouffville Hospital Foundation, and the Ontario Genomics Institute, Vice-Chair of the Ontario Institute for Cancer Research, as a Director of the Public Policy Forum and as a Governor of York University. Mr. Lievonen was appointed to the Order of Canada in 2015, named a Chevalier de l’Ordre National de Mérite by the government of France in 2007, and was inducted into the Canadian Healthcare Marketing Hall of Fame in 2013. Mr. Lievonen holds a BBA and an MBA from the Schulich School of Business and an Honorary Doctor of Laws from York University. He was elected as a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Ontario in 2007.


Jeffrey Shon, JD


Mr. Shon is the General Partner and Chief Operating Officer of REDDS Capital, a venture capital group focused on emerging technologies, since 2015. Since 2020 he has been an advisor to LOK360, a Thai-domiciled company providing legal advisory services to Thai based enterprises. From 2015 to 2020, Mr. Shon served as General Counsel to KNOWPIA, an online knowledge platform. During 2018 and 2019, Mr. Shon served as General Counsel to Futurama Blockchain Innovators Summit, an initiative comprised of a series of conferences with a dedicated cryptocurrency fund. From 2011 to 2012, Mr. Shon was an analyst, Listed Issuer Services and 2012 to 2015, Senior Manager, Compliance and Disclosure, with the TSX Venture Exchange. Mr. Shon received his Juris Doctor (business law) from the University of British Columbia, Vancouver and has an Honours BA degree (political science) from York University, Toronto.

Pierre Vermette, C.A.

Chief Financial Officer

Pierre Vermette brings to Quest PharmaTech Inc. experience in the areas of securities regulation, corporate governance and financial reporting. Prior to his employment with Quest he was employed for more than 11 years with the Alberta Securities Commission as a Securities Analyst, where he worked in Continuous Disclosure and Corporate Finance. Prior to that, he was employed as a Staff Accountant with MacKay & Partners, Chartered Accountants and also with Ernst & Young LLP.